The truth about schizophrenia

Adriano Harwood
2 min readJun 26, 2021

--

What really happen to the mind

Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

My life long journey with schizophrenia

At the age of thirteen i developed schizophrenia not out the blue as it had been the their all the time. My parents had always believe its was their maybe as i was a troubled boy it was just waiting to surface.

But when it came it came quickly took over my life. The voices and delusion began. The television soon began communicating with me my delusion some how made me believe i was married to a famous actress. Withdrawing from the world and reality my condition progress so did my thoughts. Paranoia set in. The world was watching my every move for some reason i could not understand I was never a violent person I had never committed any crime I never left the country but they were still talking about me in America ‘front page news’

Like I say the world was watching my crimes by the time I was in my late teens I been around the world despite never leaving the country. Even Hollywood was talking about me.

My parents had a enough fearing for my safety and what I might do to my self, admission to hospital and a cocktail of antipsychotics drug I return to some sort of normality.

I still suffer now from schizophrenia but after 35 years it has been a long and turbulent journey of mental illness.

The truth about schizophrenia is that the symptoms are far more real and shocking than most people can believe. As I was never violent person but untreated I may have done things beyond my control.

The true face of schizophrenia is somewhat disturbing and lonely illness. In the media the image of unpredictable, violent and antisocial individuals when in fact this could not be further from the truth. I feel it the media who are to blame for the worlds view of schizophrenia and why it still seen as untreatable problem nobody want know about

Written by Adrian Harwood

--

--

Adriano Harwood

mental health suffer and freelance journalist in the making